Swimming royalty on comeback trail in Adelaide

Swimming Victoria
Published: Mar 20, 2012 06:41:38 PM Updated: Apr 12, 2012 09:34:15 AM

Comeback queen Libby Trickett will be shooting for her place on the Australian Olympic Team when she takes to the pool in the 100m freestyle final tonight at the 2012 EnergyAustralia Swimming Championships.

Trickett, who returned with two gold medals from Beijing in 2008, is seeking a place on her third Olympic team after coming out of retirement in September 2010, with the 50m and 100m freestyle her remaining chances after missing out on the 100m butterfly.

However, her selection is anything but assured with Beijing bronze medallist Cate Campbell, world championship relay gold medallist Melanie Schlanger and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Alicia Coutts occupying the middle lanes for the final at the SA Aquatic & Leisure Centre.

In a night for the returning athletes, long-time butterfly rivals Geoff Huegill (52.79) and Michael Klim (53.45) will continue their quest to make their first Olympic team since 2004 after they both qualified in the top 16 of the men’s 100m butterfly.

Queenslander Christopher Wright will lead out the semi-finals with Huegill qualifying in the fourth fastest time and Klim through in tenth.

The trio will face a quality field with the likes of national 200m butterfly champion Nick D’Arcy (52.56), relay world champion Matt Targett (52.63), and Australian record holder Andrew Lauterstein (53.24) all vying for a place in Wednesday night’s final.

Sprint king James Magnussen has backed up winning last night’s 100m freestyle final by clocking the fastest time over 50m in this morning’s heats.

Magnussen lived up to his ‘Missile’ moniker by powering through to the semi-finals in a time of 22.19, to “blow out some cobwebs” from last night’s performance and clock a personal best time by more than 0.2 seconds.

Fellow world championship relay gold medallist Matt Abood (22.44) will look to erase the disappointment of missing out in last night’s 100m after claiming the second fastest time, while Targett (22.47) and Eamon Sullivan (22.62) are also comfortably through to the next round.

In other action…

Women’s 200m Backstroke

Commonwealth record holder Belinda Hocking is through first in the heats of her pet event, the 200m backstroke. Hocking, who is already London-bound following her second place in Saturday’s 100m backstroke final, qualified in a time of 2:10.22, ahead of former Commonwealth record holder Meagan Nay (2:11.57) and Junior World Championships bronze medallist Mikkayla Sheridan (2:12.44). Junior World Championships silver medallist Ellen Fullerton, who finished third in the weekend’s 100m event, is through fourth in 2:14.59.

Women’s 800m freestyle

Defending champion Katie Goldman is on track to make her Australian Olympic team debut after dominating her heat of the women’s 800m freestyle, stopping the clock at 8:33.60. Nineteen-year-old Goldman has qualified fastest for tomorrow night’s final, nearly five seconds ahead of her closest rival Jessica Ashwood (8:38.01). Following on from her second placing in the 200m and her Australian record in the 400m freestyle events, Kylie Palmer will be looking to cement her place on the team with a third individual swim. Palmer’s time of 8:38.16 puts her in third place clear of 14-year-old Remy Fairweather (8:43.04) and Australian open water champion Melissa Gorman (8:43.47).

Men’s 50m Breaststroke

Eight-time national champion Brenton Rickard (28.23) is through to the semi-finals of the men’s 50m breaststroke. The Australian record holder will have Canberra’s Max Ireland (28.29) and 100m breaststroke national champion Christian Sprenger (28.24) looking to chase him down in the semi-finals tonight.

Women’s 50m Backstroke Multi Class

Fresh from taking the crown in the 50m butterfly multi class final, Taylor Corry (33.51) has recorded the best time in the women’s 50m freestyle multi class heats. Sixteen-year-old Katherine Downie (33.62) and Adelaide local Teneal Houghton (34.07) qualified second and third.

Men’s 50m backstroke Multi-Class

Tim Antalfy (28.69) will look to add a 50m backstroke multi class win to his 2012 butterfly title after qualifying fastest for tonight’s final. Beijing Paralympic silver medallist Michael Anderson (29.14) is expected to be in hot pursuit, as is IPC World Championships representative Sean Russo (29.33).

Women’s 200m IM Multi Class

World Championships silver medallist Kayla Clarke will race for her ninth national title in tonight’s women’s 200m IM multi class final after qualifying fastest in a time of 2:35.20. Clarke will look to defend her title but will face stiff competition from two-time Paralympian Prue Watt (2:36.43) and 16-year-old young gun Katherine Downie (2:36.94), and Beijing Paralympic silver medallist Ellie Cole (2:41.23).

Men’s 200m IM Multi Class

Paralympic gold medallist Matthew Levy will defend his 200m IM multi class title from Lane 4 tonight after qualifying fastest in 2:39.17. Levy will be flanked by fellow Paralympic gold medal winner Rick Pendleton (2:17.42), who qualified second with eight-time Paralympic gold medallist Matthew Cowdrey (2:20.30) third.

Women’s 50m Butterfly

Two-time Olympic gold medallist Jessicah Schipper flew through the pool in the heats of women’s 50m butterfly, hitting the wall in 26.97 and book the fastest time for the semi-finals tonight. Fellow Queenslander and dual Olympian Alice Tait (27.18) was second quickest with Beijing golden girl Stephanie Rice (27.32) progressing through in fourth.

Vic Watch

AIS based athlete Cameron Prosser (22.83) and Melbourne Vicentre teammate Nicholas Ferrier (22.84) will join Matt Targett in the semis of the men’s 50m freestyle. 

Nunawading’s Belinda Parslow has moved through as the seventh fastest qualifier in the women’s 800m freestyle in a time of 8:52.11

Michael Klim posted an encouraging 53.25 to move through to the semis of the men’s 100m fly as the 10th fastest qualifier.  Matt Targett (52.63) and Australian record holder Andrew Lauterstein also progress (53.24).  

Dual 2011Australian Age gold medallist Hayley Baker has gone through as the fifth fastest qualifier to the women’s 200m backstroke semi final in a time of 2:15.88.    Joining Baker will be 19 year-old Sharni Burleigh (2:18.31) and Samantha Bennett (2:19.26). 

Casey Tigersharks swimmer Ellie Cole has qualified fifth fastest for tonight’s women’s 200m IM final, posting a 2:41.23. 

Jeremy Meyer will aim to secure a middle lane for the final in tonight’s semis of the men’s 50m breaststroke.  Having already claimed a silver and bronze medal at these Championships, Meyer looked in shape posting a 28.73.  St Kevins athlete Lucas Liew will also swim in the finals after hitting the wall in 29.40. 

Jeremy Tidy and Matt Haanappel will contest the final of the men’s 200m IM Multi Class event after qualifying for the final.   Tidy posted a time of 2:18.93 to qualify fifth fastest, with Haanappel seventh in 2:58.20

Celeste Astorino (27.35), Grace Loh (27.36), Emily Nicol (27.43) and Ellese Zalewski (28.37) move through to the semi finals of the women’s 50m breaststroke. 

Sign up for Swimming Victoria e-Newsletter

Members Button 2
Member Benefits 2013-14
2013 Annual Awards Evening button
AMG 2013
Great Victorian Swim Series
Local Legends
EnergyAustralia GO Swim Month
Play it Safe By The Water
Companion Card

Follow Us

Facebook RSS Feed Youtube twitter

© 2010 Swimming Australia  Site by IMG STG